Foxhounds, Beagles, Harriers and Terriers | Print |

The Show of Foxhounds begins at 10.45am with the Show of Coniston Foxhounds.

At 12.00 noon the Open Show of Fell Foxhounds begins. There are entries from the seven Cumbrian Fell Foxhound packs: Coniston, Blencathra, Eskdale and Ennerdale, Lunesdale, Melbreak, North Lonsdale and Ullswater.  The judges for this year are Mr Adam Waugh MFH from College Valley and North Northumberland with Mr Nigel Peel MFH from North Cotswold .  The prize money has been sponsored by Cobby Dog Foods . The first class is for the best Group of Foxhounds, which consists of one unentered dog, one unentered bitch, one entered dog and one entered bitch and one brood bitch. The winner will receive the Visitors Challenge Trophy. Following this is the best couple of foxhounds competing for the Dora Marley salver and classes for the best unentered fell foxhound dog and bitch and entered fell foxhound dog and bitch, culminating in the Champion Fell Foxhound which will receive the Robert Logan Memorial Challenge Trophy.

A Working Terrier Show follows the Show of Foxhounds for Lakeland, Border and Jack Russells. All entries for this Terrier Classes must be registered with one of the fell packs. The judge for these classes is Mr Ian Steel and the prize money has been sponsored by Paul Hoggarth Builders of Sedbergh.

The Beagle Show which can attracted as many as 14 packs from across the UK will commence at 10.30am. There is no height restrictions rules on beagles shown at Rydal This year the judges are Mr Kevin Price MH from West Somerset Beagles and Mr Archie Clifton-Brown MH from Radley College Beagles. There are classes for unentered and entered beagle dogs and unentered and entered beagle bitches, as well as the best group. Prize money has been sponsored by David Grayling Sporting Books, Malcolm Bell and the Cheshire Beagles. The Beagle Show will break for lunch at 1pm.

The Harrier Show begins at 11am and this year is being sponsored by Gaynor Sports of Ambleside, Kendal Auction Mart and Sansom and Dodwell Veterinary Surgeons. There are classes for the unentered and entered Harrier Dogs and unentered and entered Harrier bitches as well as the best group and couples. The judge for this year is Mr James Barclay.

Supreme Champion of Show, when the Champion Beagle, Harrier, Fell Foxhound and Terrier compete for the Bruce Logan Memorial Challenge Trophy. This takes place in the Foxhound ring.